RSS Feed

One candle can light thousands more; and still it gives light

*** Update 6/1/13: I’m so happy to announce that tomorrow Jared will be sitting in class!!  One amazing woman has offered to pay Jared’s tuition this year and for that I am so grateful …. as is Jared of course!!  It’s such a great start to the year, and has filled me with hope and optimism for 2013.  So now I wish Jared well in his studies, and a massive heartfelt thank you to Beverley for responding to this blog post (I was just happy that someone was reading my blog, let alone taking action :)).  The smile has not left my face since I heard this news!

 

Original post 21/12/12:

Jared wrote to OTA several months ago, looking for volunteer work.  I was immediately struck by his determination and integrity and was sorry not to be able to employ him.  However, I have pledged to assist this tenacious young man in any way I can.  After a couple of disappointments in the employment world, he has resolved to return to university to complete his Bachelor degree in Public Health.  Here is a letter from Jared to tell you more about his aspirations for the future and how he plans to achieve them.  If you are as inspired as I am by this guy, please contact me at tracey@ota-responsibletravel.com and we can make a plan to help this young man fulfil his ambitions.

Between 2003/4, while in my break after completing my O Levels, I witnessed MSF (Medecins Sans Frontiers – Doctors Without Borders) doctors attending to IDP (Internally Displaced Persons) casualties in a make shift health facility next to Lango College, Lira (Uganda). Their selfless act coupled with the risk they were putting themselves in by staying in an insecure place inspired me to want to be a doctor. So I could also do the same kind of humanitarian work for my people who need medical attention, just like them. And that is what I applied for after my A Levels. Unfortunately I did not get the points required. However, I still managed to qualify for a scholarship for a diploma in clinical medicine with orthopedics.

Now am a qualified clinical orthopedic officer, peace has returned in the northern part of Uganda which happens to be my ancestral home and I have relocated to Kigumba where my late dad bought land. Most humanitarian organisations like MSF have rolled out and moved elsewhere. The world is experiencing an economic slowdown; many youth are either unemployed like me or are getting laid off.

After spending over a year and half with no employment save for the few volunteer services I have been a part of, I decided to enroll myself in Bachelor of Science – Public Health program at Victoria University in Kampala. I didn’t just decide to do a degree; I got the motivation to go for it when I saw a gap in our health system that has created a great need, to which Public Health practitioners are best suited to respond. I have witnessed with grief the sickness of our health system here in Uganda. Surely there is a big challenge to revolutionise our health system if we are to ensure a healthy nation as well as prepare for the growing population. There are inadequate human resources, shortages of essential medicines, poor health financing and prioritizing practiced by the government, the poor leadership and governance within our health sector, the almost non-existent information system, poor service delivery practice and the failed state of health infrastructure. I have noted with concern that all these six building blocks of the health system need to be revamped. I know and strongly stand by it that health is a basic human right.

Pushing myself through campus has been, and still is presenting a tremendous challenge from paying for tuition right up to commuting daily to university. Currently my tuition is US $2800 a year and I would like to continue, beginning from second year thereby meaning I am left with two years to complete. The fact that I have no source of revenue leaves me in a very difficult position and I have resolved to solicit for funds from generous well wishers to see me through school. Presently I have not collected anything but I have had a talk with the University and they are willing to consider giving me a 25% scholarship should my results be compared against my class and I am found to be one of the top of the class.  These are the kinds of negotiations I can make to reduce on my total fees.  I have also applied for a student job with the campus and await their response. In the event that it is a success I will be able to cover some part of my tuition. I am humbly appealing to you to help me raise this money so I can earn my degree and use it to give back health to my community and people and also improve on my standard of living.

Jared Opio

This is a copy of Jared's transcript from his first year of the Bachelor of Science - Public Health

This is a copy of Jared’s transcript from his first year of the Bachelor of Science – Public Health

About overlandtraveladventures

A philanthropic tour operator, creating positive experiences both for travellers and the local communities we interact with. We provide quality tailor-made tours that visit the sight-seeing highlights as well as community-based organisations.

Leave a Reply

